Participate at MarchingFest!

Nationally Recognized

Recognized as one of the premier marching percussion festivals in the country, the Percussive Arts Society’s annual Marching Percussion competitions and clinics are an excellent opportunity to be critiqued by some of the leading percussion specialists in the field of marching percussion today.


*All performance times are subject to change. Official performance schedules will be made available in late October.

Individual Competition

Individual and Ensemble information will be available Spring 2019

The Individual Competition will take place on Thursday evening of PASIC.

Ensemble Competition

Individual and Ensemble information will be available Spring 2019

Students participating in the Small Ensemble Competition may compete in the Individual Competition category if the schedule permits. However, PAS will not alter the schedule to accommodate participation in both events.

The Ensemble competition will take place on Thursday.

Interactive Clinic

A “Non-Competitive Format” where two accomplished and experienced clinicians will evaluate your group’s performance, and work with your students for up to 30 minutes. Unlike most events, you do not have to bring your full ensemble. You can bring any combination of performers from your marching percussion section.

The Interactive Clinic will take place on Friday of PASIC.

DrumLine Battle

Prepare a 1.5-2.0 minute marching percussion drum solo (battery only). Add some visuals and stick tricks and you’re good to go! See how your group rates in a head-to-head drumline battle in a bracketed tournament format. Independent groups, drum corp ensembles, high school, and university ensembles are welcome to compete.

The DrumLine Battle will take place on Friday of PASIC.

Fred Sanford Award

PAS, in conjunction with the Fred Sanford scholarship committee, has designed a Fred Sanford Award to be presented to the highest scoring ensemble in the competition. This award is a traveling award and has been created to honor Fred Sanford for the passion of the art form and the dedication that he so willingly shared with the marching community and PAS. A plaque on the base of the award is engraved each year with the name of the recipient. The winner is given this award to display at their school for one year.

2015      Flower Mound High School
2012      Texas Christian University
2010      Paris High School
2009      Marcus High School
2008      University of North Texas
2007      Flower Mound High School
2006      Georgetown High School
2005      East Tennessee State University
2004      Marcus High School
2003      Morehead State University
2002      University of North Texas