About Dickerson Middle School Percussion Ensemble

Since its inception in the spring of 2002, the Dickerson Percussion Ensemble has performed for numerous festivals and conventions including 2003 National Middle School Association Conference, the 2004 and 2018 Georgia Music Educators Association Conference, the 2005 National Band Association Southern Div. Conference, the 2014 Midwest Clinic, the 2010, 2014, and 2018 Sandy Feldstein National Percussion Festival, and the 2019 PASIC. In addition, Mr. Brown and the Dickerson Percussion Ensemble presented a clinic/performance, “Developing a Successful Middle School Percussion Ensemble”, for the GMEA Conference, PASIC, and The Midwest Clinic. In 2006, 2009, and 2013 the ensemble received Commendations from the Governor of Georgia, Proclamation from the Cobb County Board of Commissioners in 2014 and 2017, Citation of Excellence from the Percussive Arts Society in 2010, 2014, and 2018, and a Letter of Congratulations from President Barack Obama in 2014. Past guest artists and clinicians for the ensemble include: Ralph Hardimon, Nick Angelis, Emil Richards, Lalo Davila, Glen Caruba, John Lawless, Dr. Tony McCutchen, Dr. John Culvahouse, Dr. John Parks, Sonny Emory, Kit Chatham, Michael Spiro, “Boomshaka” from Northwestern University, Fushu Daiko Taiko Ensemble, Dom Famularo, Yasukazu Kano of Kodo, Nick Petrella, She-e Wu, Dr. Andy Bliss, Patrick Sheridan, Dr. Gifford Howarth, Dr. Thad Anderson, Kirk Gay, Jeff Moore, and Zoro. Alumni of the Dickerson Percussion Ensemble have continued their percussion studies at Florida State University, University of Michigan, University of Georgia, University of Maryland, Indiana University, University of North Texas, and the Eastman School of Music. The Dickerson Percussion Ensemble is supported by, Mapex Drums, Majestic Percussion, Innovative Percussion, and Sabian Cymbals.