Michael Compitello

USA35  Lawrence, KS

Michael Compitello

Michael Compitello is active as a chamber musician, soloist, and teaching artist. He has performed with Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Signal, Ensemble ACJW, and has worked with composers Helmut Lachenmann, Nicolaus A. Huber, David Lang, John Luther Adams, Alejandro Viñao, Marc Applebaum, and Martin Bresnick on premieres and performances of new chamber works. With cellist Hannah Collins as New Morse Code, Compitello has generated a singular and personal repertoire through long-term collaborations with some of America’s most esteemed young composers. He earned a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the Yale School of Music. From 2009 to 2010, he performed and studied contemporary chamber music with the Ensemble Modern and the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt, Germany on a Fulbright Grant from the United States Department of State. Currently, Compitello serves as Assistant Professor of Percussion Studies at the University of Kansas.

clipboard_20pxSession: Focus Day Performance Piece
“Interieur I” by Helmut Lachenmann

clock_20pxDate & Location
Wabash Ballroom

Pearl/Adams Musical Instruments, Vic Firth Company, Zildjian

desktop_20pxVisit Michael’s Website

image_20pxView PASIC Media