About Q-SION Percussion Ensemble

Q-SION ensemble is a percussion comprised of graduated percussionists and professors from two of the most important music schools in Monterrey, Mexico: Facultad de Música de la Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (FAMUS) and Escuela Superior de Música y Danza de Monterrey (ESMDM). This collective was born from the curiosity of its members to perform current works made for percussion with four main interests: the use of technology, performance, non-conventional percussion instruments, as well as the interpretation of contemporary percussion repertoire with traditional instruments.

The ensamble has premiered works by mexican composers like Alejandro Gómez Villagómez, Eduardo Caballero, Noel Reyes, Ana Karen Garza, Daniel Román, Alejandro Vera among others.

In its aim for international relevance, Q-SION has also collaborated with international composers such as Joao Pedro Oliveira, Hector Infanzón, Hugo Morales Murguía and Girolamo Deraco.

Winner of several grants by Mexican Ministry of Culture, IBERMÚSICAS and CONARTE, Q-SION ensemble seeks collaboration with new composers, new technologies, artists from other disciplines, as well as the interpretation of classical percussion works made during the 20th century.